Section 52 of Chapter 110 of the Acts of 2017 (enacted November 3, 2017) directs the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security to notify individuals holding various firearms licenses and firearms identification cards of certain changes in the laws regulating firearms. Specifically, sections 18 to 21 of Chapter 110 make it illegal, as of February 1, 2018, to possess so-called “bump stocks” and “trigger cranks” in Massachusetts.
The law defines a “bump stock” as follows:
“any device for a weapon that increases the rate of fire achievable with such weapon by using energy from the recoil of such weapon to generate a reciprocating action that facilitates repeated activation of the trigger.”
The law defines “trigger crank” as follows:
“any device to be attached to a weapon that repeatedly activates the trigger of the weapon through the use of a lever or other part that is turned in a circular motion; provided, however, that “trigger crank” shall not include any weapon initially designed or manufactured to fire through the use of a crank or lever.”
Section 53 of Chapter 110 provides that changes to the firearms laws will take effect in two stages:
- Effective immediately upon its signing, the new law prohibited the purchase, sale, or offering for sale of a trigger crank or bump stock.
- Effective 90 days from the enactment of the bill—February 1, 2018—the new law will also prohibit possession of bump stocks or trigger cranks, including possession in a private home. There are no exceptions to this prohibition for licensed firearm owners: an FID card, a License to Carry, or even a license to possess a machine gun will not authorize possession of a bump stock or a trigger crank.
Because the law does not allow for transfer or sale of these prohibited items, if you currently possess a bump stock or trigger crank within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts you should contact the Wenham Police Department at 978-468-4000 for details about how to transfer custody of the prohibited item to the police for destruction.
Retention of such a prohibited item beyond the 90 day grace period will expose the owner to criminal prosecution.
Thank you for your attention to this matter.